Minute books, correspondence, papers about the merger of the Oljoro Farmers' Association with the North West Meru Farmers' Association, and printed matter relating to East African agriculture. Also, papers about labour and veterinary matters, transport and road construction, the Police and security arrangements, maize prices, agricultural shows, tsetse fly control, the Tanganyika National Farmers' Union, the Northern Province Labour Utilization Board, milk production, and the 1959 United Nations Plan for milk processing projects in Tanganyika.
Papers of the Oljoro Farmers' Association
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 161 MSS.Afr.s.1453
- Dates of Creation1948-1965
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description3 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In June 1951 the European farmers of the Ol Joro settlement area, in the Arusha District of Tanganyika, formed an association with the object of furthering the common interests of the community. Many of the 22 farms represented were in the very early stages of development; the principal crops were maize, beans and wheat. The first Chairman of the Oljoro Farmers' Association was J.J. (Bobby) Malan, the Honorary Treasurer was Peter Smeer, and the Honorary Secretary Mrs. J.D.J. Cameron. In 1961 the Oljoro Farmers' Association merged with the North West Meru Farmers' Association to become the Amalgamated Farmers' Association.
Conditions Governing Access
Bodleian reader's ticket required.
Collection level description created by Marion Lowman, Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House.
Other Finding Aids
The library holds a card index of all manuscript collections in its reading room and a handlist is also available for this collection.
Listed as no. 237 in Manuscript Collections of Africana in Rhodes House Library, Oxford, compiled by Louis B. Frewer (Oxford, Bodleian Library, 1968).
Conditions Governing Use
No reproduction or publication of personal papers without permission. Contact the library in the first instance.
Deposited with the Oxford Colonial Records Project.