Sandfields Comprehensive School

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

E/Sand Sec 1/1-8: Admission registers (restrictions apply)

E/Sand Sec 2/1-2: School magazines and brochures

E/Sand Sec 3/1: Photographs

Administrative / Biographical History

Sandfields Comprehensive was an eleven to sixteen mixed county maintained secondary school of some 650 pupils. It opened in 1958, with the official opening taking place 7 years later in 1965. Pupils were drawn from the surrounding area of Sandfields Port Talbot. The school was a purpose built Comprehensive, consisting of two main buildings on the same site, surrounded by extensive grounds and adjacent to its own playing fields. The school had an enhanced learning unit on site that catered for pupils with hearing and profound multiple learning difficulties. The school closed in July 2016. Pupils were transferred to the new Bae Baglan School as of September 2016.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.