Session minutes, 1796-1907; Roll of members, 1809, 1848, 1850 and 1851; Baptisms, 1821-1838, 1840, 1847-1849 and 1852; Minutes of congregational meetings, 1842-1897; Manager's minutes, 1842-1895.
Records of Crail West Church, Associate, United Presbyterian and United Free
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1562
- Dates of Creation1796-1907
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description3 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
On 3 March 1795 a petition was presented to the Burgher Presbytery of Perth requesting sermon within Crail and the surrounding area, and as a consequence, on 16 March 1796 Crail Burgher congregation was established. The Synod, in 1797, granted 20 to the congregation to assist with the erection of their place of worship, which was opened in that same year, and in 1803 the first minister of the congregation, William Fraser, was ordained. Subsequently the congregation suffered various periods without a minister, and its numbers declined, but a new church was built in 1858. The church became part of the United Presbyterian Church in 1847. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the charge became Crail West, United Free Church, and in 1907 a union was established with the United Free Church congregation of Crail North, under the name of Crail United Free Church. Following the union the former West Church and manse were sold.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.