A National School was opened in 1867 as a mixed junior and infant school. It was re-organised as a junior school in 1932 and became controlled in 1952. Please see CC4/142 for other records of this school.
Most of the records were received as a bequest from Miss Dorothy .B.Dew (died 1987), who was headteacher 1913-39, and whose mother also taught at the school, 1867-1913. The documents came to us via her executrix in five stages between December 1986 and October 1993, as accessions 2624, 2647, 2683, 3018 and 3710. S131/1/R1/2 was deposited as accession 4767 and added to the existing catalogue in Jan 2004 by Jenny Childs. Other records were transferred from the Oxfordshire Education Department.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, June 1999 with additions by Alison Smith in October 2013.