- Minutes, 1928-2001;
- Financial papers, 1931-2006;
- Information for members, 1973-1991;
- Constitutions of the College Club, 1928-2001;
- Visitors book, 1954-1956;
- Reports, 1960-2002;
- Staff guidelines, 1975-2001;
- Club newsletters, 2002;
- Lists of committee members, 1978-2005;
- Photocopied article regarding Professor Thomas Ferguson and the Ferguson bequest, 1977;
- File titled Wedding Info , 1996-2001;
- Papers regarding Henry Heaney, 1996-1999;
- Material regarding John Lenihan's research into the history of the College Club, 1977-1995;
- Honorary Secretary's file, 1974-1978;
- Club Christmas card, 1940;
- Invitation to Laurence Hill Esquire to attend a college club meeting, 1827.
Records of the College Club, staff club, University of Glasgow, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 DC 126
- Dates of Creation1827-2006
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.6 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The College Club was founded as an academic staff club in 1928. Prior to this, there had been numerous staff clubs at the University, including a previously existing College Club , founded in 1827. Its sole focus, however, was the card game Whist.
The need for a social space for staff was recognised by Sir Henry Jones from the Department of Moral Philosophy, who allowed a room in his house to be used as a common room from 1918 until his death in 1922. A room was then made available in the University's Gilbert Scott Building, by which point the need for a staff club was becoming increasingly clear. Premises for such a club were included in the plans to complete the West Quadrangle, and became the home of the College Club.
The club opened in May 1928, and by October a canteen which served a three course lunch had opened. In the following year the Club gained a drinks licence.
Membership requirements changed over the years, with reciprocal membership encouraged between similar institutions, and members eventually welcomed from all departments in the University, regardless of professional status.
In 1997, Professor Thomas Ferguson bequethed his estate to the University of Glasgow with the understanding that the funds be used to promote the social side of the University with particular reference to the College Club, which Ferguson had enjoyed throughout his life. Throughout the 1980s, the College Club were in dispute with the University with regards to how the money was divided.
The last year the club was fully operational was 2005. The club was liquidated in 2012.
Chronologically within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
College Club : 2012 : Donation
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
Received directly from the creators.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Emma Anthony, Business Archives Cataloguer, 23 August 2012. Collection converted to Encoded Archival Description by Emma Anthony, Business Archives Cataloguer, 23 August 2012. Catalogue edited by Emma Anthony, Business Archives Cataloguer, 28 January 2013.