SOUTHLEIGH, WESLEYAN

Scope and Content

The first appearance of Methodism here was in 1828 when Jonathan Harris' house was registered for worship. Later William Widdow's cottage at Church End was used for meetings. In 1876 a small stone chapel in gothic style designed by Charles Bell was built. In the late 1960s the chapel was sold and was converted into a private house.