Deeds of properties in Glamorgan, 1860-1950, and in Carmarthenshire, 1859-1946. There are no papers relating to the Glasbrook family's industrial concerns.
Glasbrook Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Glasbrook was a successful colliery owner working collieries in the area to the north of Swansea. His industrial interests also included the Weigh-fach brickworks and a sawmill in Swansea. He purchased Brynymor House in Swansea in 1850, and also acquired land on both sides of the Glamorgan/Carmarthenshire border, including farms in the parishes of Llangyfelach, Llandeilo Talybont, Loughor, Swansea, Llandybie and Llanelli. When he died in 1887 he appointed his five sons joint trustees of his property and they continued to administer the estate until the last son died in 1933.
Arranged into deeds by parishes
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley of West Glamorgan Archive Service. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Catalogue of the Glasbrook Estate Papers
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected