Baskerville Club: Minutes and Papers

Scope and Content

Minute book and associated papers, in several hands, 83 folios: fo. 2: minutes of meetings, 28 October 1903 - 25 February 1922; fo. 26: printed letters from the secretary proposing and announcing the dissolution of the club, receipts for money handed to the University Library, lists of rules and members, and other related papers.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Baskerville Club was founded on 4 October 1903 on the initiative of Charles Sayle of St John's College, Cambridge. The membership of the Club at its inception included A.F. Cole of King's College, A.T. Bartholomew of Peterhouse, C.D. Robertson of Trinity, J.M. Keynes of King's, F.J.H. Jenkinson of Trinity, University Librarian, G.I.H. Lloyd of Trinity, and S. Gaselee of King's. The Club was founded for 'the encouragement of bibliographical studies by publications and otherwise', and was open to members of the University. Francis Jenkinson became the first President, and A.F. Cole the Club Secretary. The first formal meeting was held on 28 October 1903. During its lifetime the Club published a Handlist of books printed in Baskerville types (1904) and a Bibliography of the works of Dr John Donne, by Geoffrey Keynes (1914). It was dissolved in 1931.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Presented by the Baskerville Club, 1931.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled from information contained in the volume.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.