Stirling District Asylum

Scope and Content

The collection includes patient records and administrative records of the Stirling District Asylum from its first intake of patients in 1869 (approximately 4 years after the asylum was established in 1865) to c.1977. In addition to which, the collection also includes editions of the Asylum's newsletter The Passing Hour.
The patient records cover 1869-1977 and include admissions registers (1869-1941); indeces (approx. 1894-1977); registers of death (1869-1977); and case notes (Male and Female 1869-1918).
The administrative records cover 1864-1967 and include the annual reports of the asylum (1905-1914); reports of Scotch Districts and Royal Asylums (1890-1894, 1903-1904, 1907-1908) which includes the annual reports of the Stirling District Lunacy Board (1891, 1892, 1984, 1908); reports of the Commissioners in Lunacy for Scotland and the General Board of Control for Scotland (1864-1914 the body served as Commissioners in Lunacy for Scotland from 1864-1914 and as the General Board of Control for Scotland 1915-1933. Reports are held for 1864-1868, 1879-1883, 1889-1898, 1904-1933); circulars and memoranda (1865-1967); Minute Book of Visiting Committee (1890-1907).
There are no dedicated staff records. Any information on staff is incidental to the annual reports of the asylum which can be found for the years 1891-1892, 1894 and 1905-1914.

Administrative / Biographical History

Stirling District Lunatic Asylum was established in 1865 by the Stirling District Lunacy Board and situated on a site adjacent to the recently opened Royal Scottish National Hospital. The first patients were admitted in June 1869, many being transferred from asylums in Glasgow, Edinburgh and Dundee. As the institution was located in Larbert it was also commonly referred to as 'Larbert Asylum' and it officially changed its name from Stirling District Asylum to Bellsdyke Hospital in 1960. The hospital was transferred to the National Health Service in 1948.

Arrangement

Arrangement is chronological.

Access Information

Open for consultation. There will be restrictions on material that falls within closure periods. Sensitive medical data is closed for 100 years in the case of children and 75 years in the case of adults.
The reading room is open from 9.30 - 13.00 / 14.00 - 16.45 on Monday - Friday. Please contact us in advance of your visit or if you have further questions regarding access at archives@stir.ac.uk .

Acquisition Information

Transferred to the University of Stirling Archives by Forth Valley Health Board in 2012.

Other Finding Aids

Further information can be found on the University of Stirling Archives website at http://libguides.stir.ac.uk/archives

A full catalogue of the material catalogued to date can be found on the University of Stirling Archives catalogue at http://www.calmview.eu/stirling/CalmView/

Alternative Form Available

Some admissions and death details will be available on the amalgamated registers for Scotland which are kept at National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh.
Additional material is held at Falkirk Archives: photocopies of The Passing Hour (1901-1903).

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Bound volumes. Unsuitable for copying due to their physical condition.

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the University of Stirling Archives for further information at archives@stir.ac.uk .

Custodial History

The historical records of the asylum were transferred to the University of Stirling Archives in April 2012. Previously held by NHS Forth Valley.

Accruals

None expected.

Location of Originals

This collection is comprised of original material.
Additional material is held at Falkirk Archives: building plans (1881-1947).