Parish records of Birkin with Haddlesey

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-2000; register of marriages, 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-2002; register of burials, 1649-1681, 1684-1699, 1718-1998; register of banns, 1823-1978; register of services, 1942-1993; register of interment of ashes, 1983-2001; notes of objects of sermons and collections, 1835-1874; register of Hirst Courtney services, 1947-1969; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1745-1753, papers relating to Queen Anne's Bounty, 1875, 1921; survey of rectory with owners and occupiers of titheable land, 1779, correspondence and papers relating to sale of cottages, glebe and mowing rights, 1921-22, and papers, 1923-1935; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1729-1906, fabric papers, 1962, papers and photographs concerning the conservation of stained glass in St Mary’s Church, 1986, and copies of plans of St Mary’s Church, 1992-1993; constables’ records, including accounts, 1729-1799, and Temple Hirst accounts, 1772-1838; records of incumbents, including papers relating to induction of Rev. F.R.A. Hoare to Birkin, 1919; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1729-1803; school records, including Hirst Courtney managers' minutes of meetings, 1900-1904; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minute books with accounts and associated papers, 1929-1989; West Haddlesey, Chapel Haddlesey, East Haddlesey and Temple Hirst enclosure award, 1793; Hirst Courtenay enclosure award and map, 1801; and Hirst Courtenay tithe award, 1838; printed books, including the ‘Works of Josephus, and Philo’s Relation of an Embassy from the Jews of Alexandria to the Emperour Caius Caligula,’ 1693, and ‘Book of Homilies,’ 1726.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Church of St Mary, Birkin, dates from the first half of the twelfth century and was initially in the patronage of the Byrkin family but had passed to the Everingham family by the 1320s. The church was rebuilt in 1328 and restored in the late nineteenth century.

Historically, the parish included the townships of Birkin, Chapel Haddlesey, East Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Hirst Courtney and Temple Hirst. A chapel of ease existed at East Haddlesey from 1312, dedicated to St John the Baptist.

In 1873 Chapel Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Temple Hirst and Hirst Courtney separated from Birkin parish to form the new parish of Chapel Haddlesey. Prior to this date baptisms, marriages and burials for these townships were recorded at Birkin.

Today Birkin is part of the united benefice of Haddlesey with Hambleton and Birkin, which also includes Chapel Haddlesey, Hambleton and Temple Hirst.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1980 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 2001, 2008, 2010 and 2011.

Note

The Church of St Mary, Birkin, dates from the first half of the twelfth century and was initially in the patronage of the Byrkin family but had passed to the Everingham family by the 1320s. The church was rebuilt in 1328 and restored in the late nineteenth century.

Historically, the parish included the townships of Birkin, Chapel Haddlesey, East Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Hirst Courtney and Temple Hirst. A chapel of ease existed at East Haddlesey from 1312, dedicated to St John the Baptist.

In 1873 Chapel Haddlesey, West Haddlesey, Temple Hirst and Hirst Courtney separated from Birkin parish to form the new parish of Chapel Haddlesey. Prior to this date baptisms, marriages and burials for these townships were recorded at Birkin.

Today Birkin is part of the united benefice of Haddlesey with Hambleton and Birkin, which also includes Chapel Haddlesey, Hambleton and Temple Hirst.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010. Later material has not yet been listed, for further information please contact the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1649-1873, marriages, 1649-1837, burials, 1649-1862, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 641, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 17.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193