Records of St George's National School, Llandudno (later St George's N.P. School and Ysgol San Sior)

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Includes log books, admissions registers and records of the management committee.

Administrative / Biographical History

This was the first National school to open in Llandudno in the late 1840s. It encompassed separate Infants' and Mixed Schools, occupying what is now (2001) a listed building, which, thanks to a successful application to the Heritage Lottery Fund, is shortly to be restored as Llandudno's earliest school and an example of National School architecture.

The Managers shared a responsibility for St George's School in Church Walks, St Beuno's School on Great Orme, and Bodafon School on the eastern side of the town, all Church of England schools.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Related Material

See also CP98 for school photographs 1936-1980s