The Wrexham Dispensary opened in Yorke Street on May 1st 1833. The dispensary had no facilities for in-patients and it soon became apparent that an infirmary was needed. Wrexham Infirmary was opened in 1838 in Regent Street and by 1848, the Infirmary became known as Wrexham Hospital and Dispensary. A new in-patients ward was opened in 1840 followed by numerous additions over the following years including an operating theatre in 1863, fever wards in 1866/7 and a children's ward and convalescent ward in 1887.
Wrexham and East Denbighshire Memorial Hospital
The Wrexham and East Denbighshire Memorial Hospital, Rhosddu Road, opened in 1926. The hospital opened in conjunction with the William & John Jones Hospital Trust, replacing Wrexham Infirmary. The War Memorial closed in 1986 when the last patients were transferred to Ysbyty Maelor.
William and John Jones Hospital
The William and John Jones Hospital ran alongside the War Memorial Hospital's out-patients department on Grove Park Road. The hospital later became part of the War Memorial Hospital.
This collection includes: administrative, patient and staff records.