Registrum evidentiarum civitatis Sancti Andreae, c.1500

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

A register of evidences.

The volume comprises forty seven leaves of vellum and forty three leaves of paper.

The first hand of the vellum leaves [ff.1-4, 7-8r, 11-20r, 24-33] [from c.1450] gives details of the individual rentals due to six of the altars of the Church of Holy Trinity, St Andrews [Fife] together with charters of presentation and other material related to the church in a later hand [ff.5-6, 8r-10, 20v-23, 34-47].Later transcriptions in the hand of John Motto, town clerk of St Andrews, are interspersed in gaps and blank leaves.

The paper leaves [ff.48-77] comprise copies of various charters and acts in favour of the town by monarchs, bishops and others.

A final leaf [f.78] comprises an index to the whole in a hand very probably that of George Martine.

Administrative / Biographical History

John Motto (fl.1560-1581), town clerk of St Andrews. He was responsible for the survival of many of the old town charters, both in their original form and also by copying them into the Black Book, and into this volume. By 1581 he had been an elder in the church of the Holy Trinity for 20 years.

The book appears to have been started by a priest of the church of the Holy Trinity, compiling a record of altars and altarages, and other hands added presentations to churches until 1505. Then the work was taken up again in the 1560's by John Motto who filled in most of the blank pages and gaps with copies of charters and documents. Later scribes added more copies of charters and acts.

Arrangement

Single item

Conditions Governing Access

By appointment with the Keeper of Manuscripts. Access to records containing confidential information may be restricted.

Acquisition Information

Restored to the Library by Alexander Macdonald, keeper of the Register of Acts, 17 Mar 1838

Note

Call number used to be ms837

Other Finding Aids

Individual Manuscripts and Small Collections database available as part of Manuscripts Database.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Binding: Black morocco embossed on spine 'Regist civit S Andree'.Vellum and paper: 14x21cm approx.

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Maia Sheridan, Archives Hub project archivist, based on material from the Manuscripts Database

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Keeper of Manuscripts. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.

Custodial History

Formerly preserved with the Town Charters and taken from thence to Edinburgh by George Buist c.1837.

Accruals

None

Bibliography

A full description and translation is given in W E K Rankin The Parish Church of the Holy Trinity St Andrews, 1955.