Uwchdulas Petty Sessional Division, records of

Scope and Content

Petty Sessions began at the beginning of the 18th century as extra meetings to lessen the burden on Justices of the Peace in Quarter Sessions. The normal practice was to subdivide a shire into geographical divisions with each magistrate being assigned to a particular division. The Sessions were held twice monthly in each division as opposed to the Quarter Sessions, which were held every three months.

The Petty Sessions dealt mainly with minor cases such as drunkenness, assaults, larceny, trespassing, fraud and juvenile cases, as well as ale licensing and adoption. They required the presence of two Justices of the Peace but no jury.

Uwchdulas Petty Sessional Division covered the constituent parishes in Uwchdulas and Uwchaled:- Llansantffraid Glan Conwy; Eglwysbach; Llangernyw; Llanddoget; Llanrwst Urban; Gwytherin; Pentrefoelas; Cerrigydrudion; Tir Ifan; Llanfihangel Glyn Myfyr; Llangwm.

Uwchdulas transferred in 1974 to Aberconwy in Gwynedd.

This collection includes: minute books, court registers, juvenile court registers, financial records and registers of licences.

Related material-

PSD/I/6/2 Register of Licences, 1956-1961

PDS/I/6/3 Register of Licences, 1962-1967


Petty Session records are arranged as follows-

Minutes; Court Registers; Juvenile Court Registers; Accounts; Registers of Licences; Registers of habitual drunkards; Register of clubs; Miscellaneous Registers and Miscellaneous.

Access Information

100 year closure period