Kenya: Legislative Council Election 1957

Scope and Content

Press cuttings and lists of candidates and parties for Kenya Legislative Council Election 1957; comprising general cuttings, cuttings on individual candidates W B Akatsa (Nyanza North), C M G Argwings-Kodhek (Nairobi), Tom Mboya (Nairobi), C T Munei (Rift Valley), O Odinga (Nyanza Central), B A Ohanga (Nyanza Central), G Orinda (Nyanza South), J K Tipis (Rift Valley); cuttings on constituencies; and cuttings on political parties and groups the Capricorn Africa Society, the Nairobi District African Congress, the Reform Party and the United Front.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1957 Kenya was a British Crown Colony, governed by a Legislative Council with 54 Members. The 1957 election was the first in which African members were elected to the Legislative Council through a restricted franchise. A Luo trade unionist, Tom M'boya, together with other Africans promoted to ministerial posts, refused to assume official responsibilities. A constitutional conference was held in London in January and February, 1960, that led to a transitional constitution legalizing political parties and giving Africans a comfortable majority on the Legislative Council.


Four bundles: General cuttings sorted by date; individual candidates; constituencies and political organizations and groups.

Access Information

Open although advance notice should be given. Access to individual items may be restricted under the Data Protection Act or the Freedom of Information Act.

Acquisition Information

The source of acquisition by ICS is not known.

Other Finding Aids


Archivist's Note

Compiled by Alan Kucia as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.

Conditions Governing Use

A photocopying service is available at the discretion of the Library staff. Copies are supplied solely for research and private study. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Information Resources Manager.

Geographical Names