Toynbee Hall, London: Letters to Ernest Aves, Sub-Warden

Scope and Content

31 letters to Ernest Aves, 1887-1905, agreeing or declining to lecture at the Hall. There are letters from Alfred Ainger (2 letters, 1888-94), 2nd Earl of Balfour (2, 1905), Sir Walter Besant (1887), George G. Butler (1889), Sir Edward T. Cook (1901), John W. Cross (1893), Philip Lyttelton Gell (1889), Sir John Eldon Gorst (1891), 1st Viscount Grey of Falloden (1891), 1st Viscount Haldane (1891), Frederic Harrison (1890), Auberon E.W.M. Herbert (1890), Henry A. Jones (2, 1892-94), Alfred Marshall (2, 1893-97), Henry W. Nevinson (1897), 1st Viscount Peel (1897), Benjamin S. Rowntree (2, 1901), 1st Viscount Samuel (1896), Edmund B. Sargant (1900), Sir Richard Temple (1889), 2nd Baron Tennyson (1905), Charlotte M. Toynbee (1895), James Ward (1888), Mary Augusta Ward (1895), H. Spenser Wilkinson (1895), and Hartley Withers (1904).

Administrative / Biographical History

Toynbee Hall, established 1884, was Oxford and Cambridge Universities' Settlement in Commercial Street, Whitechapel, East London, where University graduates and undergraduates could 'live face to face with the actual conditions of crowded city on the spot the evils and their remedies...learn to know the "people" as friends, and...strive to ennoble their lives and to improve their material condition' (Work for University men in east London, 1884). It was named after Arnold Toynbee (1852-83), social philosopher and economist. Ernest Harry Aves (1857-1917), Trinity College Cambridge, 1880-84, was a resident of the Hall, 1886-97, acting sub-warden, 1890-97, and Secretary of the Council of the Universities' Settlement Association, 1889-1901.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Purchased 1995.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Summary Catalogue.