An agreement between John, the prior, and the canons of the priory of St Andrews, Master Laurence, archdeacon of St Andrews, and Sir William, archdeacon of Lothian, concerning an episcopal election.
Cyrograph: agreement of John, prior of St Andrews, c.1238.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 msDA890.S1W5
- Dates of Creationc.1238
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialLatin
- Physical Description1f
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A priory of Augustinian canons was founded around 1127 by Robert, bishop of St Andrews. The small eleventh century church of St Rule was extended to function as a church for the canons and also as cathedral for the see of St Andrews. The priory had 3 dependent houses, Porkmoak or Loch Leven priory, Pittenweem and Monymusk. St Andrews cathedral, administered by the canons, was begun in 1160, but not completed until 1318.
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Keeper of Manuscripts. Access to records containing confidential information may be restricted.
Purchased from W L Eadie, Milton of Balgonie, Markinch, [Fife], 21 September 1943.
Call number used to be ms588
Other Finding Aids
Individual Manuscripts and Small Collections database available as part of Manuscripts Database.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Parchment: indented: 17.2x7.2cm. Foot folded with slits for two seal tags. Fragment of seal, white wax, on a tag remains at left hand side. Loose fragment of seal also present. No seal or tag remains at right hand side.
Description compiled by Maia Sheridan, Archives Hub project archivist, based on material from the Manuscripts Database
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Keeper of Manuscripts. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
The document is described and transcribed as an appendix to G W S Barrow, 'The Cathedral Chapter of St Andrews and the Culdees in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries', Journal of Ecclesiastical History, III, 1952, pp.23-39.