Administrative records for Mortlake County Secondary Boys' School and its predecessor school Mortlake Central Boys' School.
Mortlake County Secondary Boys' School (formerly Mortlake Central Boys' School)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 S15
- Dates of Creation1938 - 1969
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume and 4 albums
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A boys' school was opened on Lower Richmond Road in 1909, and became a Central Boys' School for boys aged 11-14 in December 1920. The school ceased to be selective in 1945, and became Mortlake County Secondary Boys' School. The school closed in July 1969, and the boys joined the new Barnes County Secondary School (ref: S14) and Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School (ref: S11).
Mortlake Central Boys' School opened in December 1920 on the Lower Richmond Road. The school ceased to be selective in 1945, and became known as Mortlake County Secondary Boys' School, but the administrative functions of the earlier school continued. The records of the two schools are therefore been catalogued together. The school closed in 1969.
The Mortlake County Secondary Boys' School Collection is arranged into 2 series records:
- S15/1 Admissions registers, 1949-1969
- S15/2 Photograph albums, 1938-1969
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is closed and not currently available for research.
For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html