Seven Sisters School Records

Scope and Content

Log books, 1884-1980; admission registers, 1917-1972; weekly summary attendance registers, 1946-1973; boys' yearly summary attendance registers, 1919-1933; punishment books, 1918-1979; correspondence relating to medical examinations, 1959-1961; staff records, 1917-1979; returns (infants) to the Board of Education, Welsh Department, 1922-1958; Central and Local Government correspondence and memoranda, 1880-1961; plans, [20th century].

Administrative / Biographical History

Seven Sisters School, Seven Sisters (or Blaendulais), Dulais Higher, Glamorgan, opened in 1884 as a Board school. In 1949 it became Blaendulais School.


Arranged chronologically into: log books and minutes; records of pupils; records of staff; returns to the Board of Education, Welsh Department; Central and Local Government correspondence and memoranda; National Union of Teachers; plans; historical miscellanea.

Access Information

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Primary Schools, catalogue; Collis, Kim, West Glamorgan Archive Service - A Guide to the Collections (West Glamorgan Archive Service, 1998).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names