Parish records of Walton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1619-1987; register of marriages, 1619-1960; register of burials, 1619-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1823-1955; register of services, 1913-1971; records concerning benefice income, including glebe papers, 1861-1939, tithe papers, early 20th century, and table of fees, [early 20th century]; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1815-1928, fabric papers and photograph, 1889-1986, restoration fund account book, 1889-1898, and churchyard plan, 1980s; constables’ accounts, 1816-1837; records of incumbents, including envelope scheme accounts, 1965-1967, 1975-1983, service papers, n.d, 1960, and parsonage house papers, 1858-1861; overseers’ accounts, 1816-1857; surveyors’ accounts, 1768-1860; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including enclosure award and map, 1829, and minutes of meetings, 1921-1966, 1981-1990.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Walton from at least the twelfth century. It was originally a chapel of ease within the parish of Thorp Arch and was given to Nun Monkton Priory at an early date and later appropriated, with its mother church, to the collegiate Chapel of St Mary and the Holy Angels (also known as St Sepulchre’s) in York.

Parts of the present church, which is dedicated to St Peter, date to the twelfth century, although it was largely rebuilt in the fourteenth. The church was restored in 1891. In 1877 a new organ was installed, made by Foster and Andrews of Hull. The village was owned for many years by the Fairfax family. It later passed to the Lane Fox family of Bramham Park and it was George Lane Fox who funded the 1891 restoration work.

Walton appears to have been a separate parish by at least 1821. In 1977 the benefices of Thorpe Arch and Walton were united.

Today Walton is part of the parish of Lower Wharfe and benefice of Bramham, the latter of which also includes Thorp Arch, Bramham and Boston Spa.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1990, 1993, 1994 and 1997.

Note

There was a church at Walton from at least the twelfth century. It was originally a chapel of ease within the parish of Thorp Arch and was given to Nun Monkton Priory at an early date and later appropriated, with its mother church, to the collegiate Chapel of St Mary and the Holy Angels (also known as St Sepulchre’s) in York.

Parts of the present church, which is dedicated to St Peter, date to the twelfth century, although it was largely rebuilt in the fourteenth. The church was restored in 1891. In 1877 a new organ was installed, made by Foster and Andrews of Hull. The village was owned for many years by the Fairfax family. It later passed to the Lane Fox family of Bramham Park and it was George Lane Fox who funded the 1891 restoration work.

Walton appears to have been a separate parish by at least 1821. In 1977 the benefices of Thorpe Arch and Walton were united.

Today Walton is part of the parish of Lower Wharfe and benefice of Bramham, the latter of which also includes Thorp Arch, Bramham and Boston Spa.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1619-1987, marriages, 1619-1960, burials, 1619-1993, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 803, 1581, 1755, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Archaeological Society, 'The parish register of Walton in Ainsty. Vols. I-IV. 1619-1837.' Transcribed and edited by George Edward Kirk (Wakefield, 1963).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193