Deeds and documents, 1784-1920, of the Llan-dawg estate, Carmarthenshire, and a map of the estate.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/data/gb211-llan-dawg
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 LLAN-DAWG
- Dates of Creation1784-1920
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.024 cubic metres (2 boxes)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Edwardes family owned extensive lands in Pembrokeshire (including Skomer Island, Midland, Grassholm and Gateholm islands), in Carmarthenshire (including Castell Llwyd, Llan-dawg and Westmead in the Laugharne area), and the Neuadd estate in the parish of Llanarth, Cardiganshire. Francis Edwardes of St Brides married Lady Elizabeth Rich, only daughter and heiress of Robert, 2nd Earl of Holland, 5th Earl of Warwick and Baron Kensington. Their heir was William Edwardes, 1st Bart (d. 1801), who was created Baron Kensington in 1776. He served as M.P. for Haverfordwest 1747-1801. According to the 1873 return of owners of land Lord Kensington owned 7,471 acres in Pembrokeshire, Radnorshire, Carmarthenshire and Cardiganshire, with an annual rental of Â£5,379. The family continued in possession of the estate until 1920, when Hugh Edwardes, 6th Bart (1873-1938), sold 3,662 acres carrying an annual rental of Â£2,901, including Llan-dawg, which was sold to Carmarthenshire County Council.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Jones, Francis, Historic Carmarthenshire Homes and their Families, (Newport, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Carmarthenshire Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected