Report on a plan by William Vaughan for a dock at Wapping, by John Powsey. Report on plans of wet docks at the Isle of Dogs planned by Mr Milligan, Mr St. Barbe and Mr Bettesworth, by John Powsey. Report on the cut from Old Gravel Lane to Blackwall by Daniel Alexander. Tides of the river Thames connected to the London docks by William Vaughan. Copies of reports to the committee, of dock plans at Wapping and the Isle of Dogs.
Committee of merchants appointed to take into consideration the states of the legal quays
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Daniel Asher Alexander (1768-1846) was educated at St Paul's School. He was a silver medallist, Royal Academy. He was also surveyor to London Dock Company (1796-1831) and to Trinity House. Alexander designed lighthouses at Harwich and Lundy Island, and prisons at Dartmoor and Maidstone. William Vaughan (1752-1850) was a merchant and author. He was a director of the Royal Exchange Assurance Corporation, London, 1783-1829. He advocated canal extension, 1791; published pamphlets urging extension of London Docks, 1793-1797. His publications include: 'Answer to objections against the London-docks' (1796); 'A collection of tracts on wet docks for the Port of London: with hints on trade and commerce and on free-ports' (1797); 'A comparative statement of the advantages and disadvantages of the docks in Wapping and the docks in the Isle of Dogs' (1799); 'A letter to a friend on commerce and free ports and London-docks' (1796).
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
No further list required
Output from CAIRS using template 14 and checked by hand on May 8, 2002
Conditions Governing Use
APPLY TO ARCHIVIST