Llandrillo-yn-Rhos Parish Records

Scope and Content

Comprises registers of baptisms, banns, marriages and burials; service registers, churchwardens accounts, parochial church council minutes and some miscellaneous non parish records.

Administrative / Biographical History

Llandrillo yn Rhos was originally a large and historic parish. St Trillo's Chapel dates to the sixth century. Parts of the parish church of St Trillo date to the thirteenth century, although the church was largely rebuilt in 1877. The parish name of Llandrillo is first found in 1540, prior to that the name Dinerth was used. The parish originally contained the townships of Eirias, Colwyn, Rhiw, Cilgwyn, Llwyd Coed, Mochdre, and Dinerth (also spelled Dinarth). With the growth of the holiday trade during the Victorian period, and the increasing population, new churches were built; and eventually the parish was divided. The parish of Colwyn was formed in 1844, Colwyn Bay in 1893, and Brynymaen in 1900. Most of the township of Cilgwyn was transferred to the parish of Llanelian. The present ecclesiastical parish is therefore very much reduced in size. St. George's Church was opened in 1913, as a chapel of ease to the parish church. The modern town is also known as Rhos-on-Sea.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Custodial History

Received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in 1976 and transferred to Conwy Archive Service in 2009.