Manuscript volume, 1573, containing documents and tables relating to the Royal Mint, including papers on the prevention of counterfeiting and clipping of coins, and methods of replenishing the circulation of silver coins.
Tables relating to the Royal Mint
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 14
- Dates of Creationc1573
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume containing 13 leaves
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The English Royal Mint was responsible for the making of coins according to exact compositions, weights, dimensions and tolerances, usually determined by law. Minting in England was reorganised by King Edward I to facilitate a general recoinage in 1279. This established a unified system which was run from the Royal Mint in London by the Master and Warden of the Mint.. There remained smaller mints in Canterbury and elsewhere until 1553, when English minting was concentrated into a single establishment in London. For several centuries control of policy relating to the coinage rested soley with the monarch, with Parliament finally gaining control following the Revolution of 1688. The Mint itself worked as an independent body until that date, when it came under the control of the Treasury.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Part of the Goldsmith's Library of Economic Literature, initially collected by Herbert Somerton Foxwell and presented by the Goldsmith's Company to the University of London in 1903.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Manuscript quarto. Vellum binding.
Compiled by Sarah Smith as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.
Originally from the collection of John Fane, 17th Earl of Westmoreland, and sold at Sotheby's on 22 Feb 1887. Bought by Herbert Somerton Foxwell from Ellis and Elvey in 1888.