Records of Incorporation, Council and Committee minutes 1944-1995, correspondence, publications 1913-2005, records of NORSA 1968-2000, photographs 1929-2000.
Students Representative Council and Students Association
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Student's Representative Council of Heriot-Watt College was founded in January 1929 with the remit of "representing the students in matters affecting their interest; affording a recognised means of communication between the students and the Heriot-Watt authorities; and promoting social life and academic unity among the students." The SRC published a Magazine called Heriot-Watt College Record or Magazine. In 1967 after the College became a University the organisation's name changed to the Heriot-Watt University Student's Association, but the Student's Representative Council remained as the Council and consists of Association Office-Bearers, the immediate Past President and ordinary members of the Association elected annually. The remit of the Association is similar to the SRC, but also provides for the benefit of the students such services and facilities as are appropriate and desirable.
Once the College had become a University the number of students rose. The Association became responsible for an increasing amount of services including the Students Union, Shop and student Societies. Once the Riccarton campus opened to students in 1974 the Association had to offer services at both sites. The new Union opened in 1991 before the University completed the move from the city centre in 1992.
Arranged chronologically according to classification scheme.
Access may be restricted to items that are damaged or closed for reasons of confidentiality.
Transferred from Heriot-Watt University Students Association.
Other Finding Aids
Computerised list in CALM database.
Description created by Helen Taylor, Archivist, Heriot-Watt University.
Conditions Governing Use
Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents. Permission to publish material from the Archive must be sought in advance from the University Archivist. Responsibility for obtaining copyright clearance rests with the applicant.
Location of Originals
The collection is original. Located at the Edinburgh Campus.