Anglesey Quarter Session Rolls, 1820 - 1829

Scope and Content

Anglesey Quarter Session Rolls, 1820 - 1829.

Administrative / Biographical History

Courts of Quarter Sessions were introduced into Wales following the Acts of Union of 1536 and 1543, and took their name from the fact that they met at quarterly intervals throughout the year. Until the establishment of county and district councils in 1888 and 1894, they were responsible for both judicial matters and the civil administration of the county, including constructing and maintaining roads and bridges, levying rates, relieving the poor, removing vagrants, issuing licences, appointing county officials, and so on, and organisations such as Masonic lodges and friendly societies were obliged to deposit their regulations with the Clerk of the Peace. Courts of Quarter Sessions were replaced by Crown Courts in 1971. The Anglesey Quarter Sessions records include records of the David Hughes Charity.

Arrangement

Chronologically

Access Information

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

The archive appears to have been acquired directly from the Anglesey Court of Quarter Sessions.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da /Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by David Moore for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Catalogue, Quarter Sessions Records.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

The original Quarter Sessions rolls had been broken down prior to their receipt by Anglesey County Record Office.

Accruals

Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible

Related Material

Order books, 1768 - 1971; treasurer's accounts, 1783 - 1971; county gaol records; electoral lists, 1832 - 1971; jury lists, 1840 - 1901; poll books, 1784 and 1837; land tax assessments, 1712 - 1869; window tax assessments, 1751 - 1786; poor relief records, 1788 - 1860, and returns of pauper lunatics, 1842 - 1882; licensing records, 1787 - 1875; returns of offences and reports from the chief constable, 1857 - 1910; returns of masonic lodges; records of friendly societies, 1804 - 1825; records of the Anglesey Savings Bank, 1818 - 1876; appointments of sheriffs and undersheriffs, 1830 - ; plans for roads, bridges, harbours and railways, together with records relating to the maintenance of county buildings, roads and bridges; a roll of annuities (for the prevention of electoral corruption), 1763 - 1867; enclosure awards; petitions; and records of the David Hughes Charity, including the Free Grammar School and the almhouses in Beaumaris, [16th century] - 1869.