Josephine Butler to 'My dear Friend' [Mrs Tanner]

Scope and Content

Written from 39 Clarence Square Cheltenham.

Just had a visit from her son Charles, his wife and little Rosalind, now three years and 4 months. Their cottage in Devonshire is seven miles from anything like a town so they are making use of the shops at Cheltenham for winter clothes. Has such a pleasant remembrance of the week spent with them

Administrative / Biographical History

8 Dec [1901].

'a visit from my son Charlie and his wife and little Rosalind' See notes for letter of 4 Nov.

'Rosalind is a dear little thing. She talks so well for 2 years and 4 months ... and takes walks with her father and mother'

It looks as if JB has made a slip here and meant 3 years and 4 months, as a child of 2 would hardly be as advanced as indicated here. Rosalind was born in 1898; Aug would be right for the 4 months. That fits in with JB's statement of 2 years corrected to 3 years and 4 months.

The year of 1901 seems the right one as it fits in with the other letters of that year from various addresses describing visits she is paying to friends and relations, and her plans finally to come to Cheltenham for the winter. Letters for 21 Dec and 23 Dec 1901 are both from the same address in Cheltenham (39 Clarence Square, Pitville, Cheltenham).

'I have persuaded Charlie to have some massage at the Spa here to relieve his lumbago' Cheltenham is described as a spa and summer resort and unlike some other spas continues under this title today. The town has always been a popular place of retirement for ex-colonial civil servants and army officers.

Biog: Maurice Gregory, Charles Butler and family