Papers on Anthrax collected by Dr J.H. Bell and Dr Fritz Eurich

Scope and Content

Photocopies of 2 scrapbooks containing an indexed collection of news cuttings (1878 to 1911) on anthrax, and of part (pp. 98-131) of the Annual Report for 1880 of the Medical Office of the Local Government Board: "An inquiry by Mr. John Spear on the occurrence of anthrax amongst persons engaged in the London Hide and Skin Trades".

Administrative / Biographical History

Anthrax, "the wool-sorters' disease", was a particular problem in late 19th century Bradford; at the end of the century there was, on average, one case a week, a third of these being fatal. Dr. John Henry Bell was a Bradford practitioner who helped found the Royal Eye and Ear Hospital and had worked on the identification of miners' nystagmus: in 1879 he confirmed the identification of woolsorters' disease with anthrax. Dr Eurich set up a practice in Bradford in 1896 and in 1905 was appointed as bacteriologist to the Bradford and District Anthrax Investigation Board. His work led to the institution of various measures against anthrax, including the building of the Wool Disinfecting Station at Liverpool.

Conditions Governing Access

Available to researchers, by appointment. Access to archive material is subject to preservation requirements and must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation. There are currently no restrictions on access to this collection.

Acquisition Information

The originals were lent to the J.B. Priestley Library for photocopying by Mrs. Margaret Bligh Scrutton, daughter of Dr. Eurich.

Note

This description was written in 2001. It is being made available with minor edits as part of our Quick Wins programme to publicise key archives by putting existing catalogues online.

Archivist's Note

Originally described by John Brooker using ISAD(G) 2 in April 2001, minor edits by Alison Cullingford, May 2013.

Conditions Governing Use

Copies may be supplied or produced at the discretion of Special Collections staff, subject to copyright law and the condition of the originals. Applications for permission to make published use of any material should be directed to the Special Collections Librarian in the first instance. We believe all items in this collection are out of copyright in the UK. However, responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.

Location of Originals

Returned in April 1978 to Mrs. Evelyn Imrie of Ilkley, daughter of Dr. Eurich.