Records of Henry Brock Memorial Hospital, Alexandria, Scotland

Scope and Content

  • Minutes 1939-1948
  • Reports 1947-1948

Administrative / Biographical History

Henry Brock Memorial Hospital  opened in  1924  in a converted mansion house (Broomley House). The hospital was built with money bequeathed by Henry Brock of Darleith and consisted of 2 general wards, 1 children’s ward, 1 ward for private patients, an operating theatre, an x-ray room and outpatients department. In  1955  the Vale of Leven District General Hospital was built on the grounds of the Henry Brock Memorial Hospital which subsequently became an integral part of the new hospital. In 1956 the hospital became a geriatric unit and chronic sick assessment centre. In  1977  a new geriatric unit was opened in the Vale of Leven Hospital and all remaining patients were removed from the Henry Brock building.


Chronological within record class

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Argyll and Clyde Acute Hospitals NHS Trust

Other Finding Aids

Descriptive list

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Alistair Tough, Greater Glasgow NHS Board Archivist, 23 July 1998

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 812 procedures

Custodial History

Records held within National Health Service prior to transfer


None expected

Related Material

GB 812 AC 40, Records of Vale of Leven District General Hospital

Geographical Names