- Minutes 1939-1948
- Reports 1947-1948
Records of Henry Brock Memorial Hospital, Alexandria, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Henry Brock Memorial Hospital opened in 1924 in a converted mansion house (Broomley House). The hospital was built with money bequeathed by Henry Brock of Darleith and consisted of 2 general wards, 1 children’s ward, 1 ward for private patients, an operating theatre, an x-ray room and outpatients department. In 1955 the Vale of Leven District General Hospital was built on the grounds of the Henry Brock Memorial Hospital which subsequently became an integral part of the new hospital. In 1956 the hospital became a geriatric unit and chronic sick assessment centre. In 1977 a new geriatric unit was opened in the Vale of Leven Hospital and all remaining patients were removed from the Henry Brock building.
Chronological within record class
Conditions Governing Access
Argyll and Clyde Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Compiled by Alistair Tough, Greater Glasgow NHS Board Archivist, 23 July 1998
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 812 procedures
Records held within National Health Service prior to transfer