Registers (including service and banns registers) 1797-1987; papers relating to church property and buildings 1832-1994; Vestry minutes 1823-1920; Easter Vestry and PCC minutes 1890-1995; Churchwardens' and other accounts 1875-1990; church organizations 1936-1955; parish magazines 1900-1990; church history 1980; miscellaneous 1885-1999.
St John-juxta-Swansea Ecclesiastical Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ancient parish; has at various times been joint with Llansamlet, Llangyfelach and Swansea St Mary's. The church was originally sited on High Street, near the railway station (in fact, outside the parish), but was rebuilt on a new site in the Hafod in 1879. The old church was rebuilt as St Matthew's. Manselton was formed out of the northern half of the parish c. 1919. St John's is currently joint with St Mark's.
Ecclesiastical records are arranged into Incumbent's records, PCC records, Churchwardens' records and church affairs.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible