Open reel tape

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 FRD3/11/1/9
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      2 pieces: tape on plastic 7" reel, in original EMI plastic storage case; with loose note. Condition: acetate is in poor condition.

Scope and Content

A tape identified as "A: BBC Tape Copies". This appears to be a later copy of RD's home recordings, which may have been made by the BBC from RD's originals, and supplied to John Donat after his father's death. The readings include some Christmas poems, as well as a number of poems intended for inclusion in 'The Queen's Garland'. They are as follows: (1) 'Testing only' sequence (in which RD notes that the electrical heater is on in the room near the tape machine); (2) 'On her Reign' [from Henry VIII] by Shakespeare; (3) 'London's Welcome' [from The Coronation Progress, anon.]; (4) 'The King of Portugal Describes her State' [from The Battle of Alcazar] by George Peele; (5) 'The Satirist is Charmed by the Queen' [from Every Man Out of his Humour)] by Ben Jonson; (6) 'Sir Walter Pleads in Person' [from The Book of the Ocean's Love to Cynthia] by Sir Walter Ralegh; (7) Sonnet, 'Oracle from a Device' by Robert, Earl of Essex; (8) 'The Toys' by Coventry Patmore; (9) 'Noël' by Hilaire Belloc; (10) 'Dusk' by AE (George W. Russell); (11) 'Christmas Tree' by John Redwood-Anderson; (12) 'Whom the Gods Require: to Winston Spencer Churchill, born November 30th 1874' by Charles Morgan; (13) 'I do Believe' by Elizabeth Hilton Young; (14) Chinese poem, 'On the Birth of his Son'; (15) 'Ode to Psyche', (16) 'Ode to Melancholy', (17) 'To Autumn', and (18) 'Bright Star', all by John Keats.

Duration: 34 minutes. With manuscript note of contents.


Transferred to cassette no. D73.

Related Material

'The Queen's Garland' recordings also appear on tape FRD1/11/5, from which this copy may be taken.