Parish records of Sancton

Scope and Content

Includes register of baptisms, 1717-1896; register of marriages, 1538-1548, 1625-1659, 1717-1739, 1755-1836; register of burials, 1608-1624, 1641-1670, 1717-1791, 1792-1915; register of banns, 1823-1836; register of services, 1953-1972.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Sancton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church dates to the twelfth. The moiety of the rectory was divided into two until 1251, when it was consolidated into one by Walter Grey, Archbishop of York, and the patronage granted to the Priory of Watton. It was approrpiated to them, and a vicarage was ordained there, in 1310.

The parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, has an unusual octagonal lantern tower which was added in the fifteenth century. The whole church was rebuilt between 1869 and 1871 by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson of York, although it retains its tower and other original features.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1745, 1756, 1792 and 1830.

The parish historically included North Cliffe, Houghton and Hessleskew Grange, although North Cliffe formed its own parish in the late nineteenth century.

Today the church remains in use.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was transferred to the Borthwick Institute from East Riding Record Office in 1998.

Note

The existence of a church at Sancton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church dates to the twelfth. The moiety of the rectory was divided into two until 1251, when it was consolidated into one by Walter Grey, Archbishop of York, and the patronage granted to the Priory of Watton. It was approrpiated to them, and a vicarage was ordained there, in 1310.

The parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, has an unusual octagonal lantern tower which was added in the fifteenth century. The whole church was rebuilt between 1869 and 1871 by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson of York, although it retains its tower and other original features.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1745, 1756, 1792 and 1830.

The parish historically included North Cliffe, Houghton and Hessleskew Grange, although North Cliffe formed its own parish in the late nineteenth century.

Today the church remains in use.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1998.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1717-1896, marriages, 1538-1836, burials, 1608-1915, and banns, 1823-1836, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1803, 149).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193