Poems on sacred subjects

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 12 MS.Add.7942
  • Dates of Creation
      17th century
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 volume

Scope and Content

'Versos cuerdos escritos por diferentes authores a asumptos sagrados', a collection of fifty-one poems by Fray Ortensio Paravicino (3), Fray Francisco de Aillon (3), Juan de Matos Fragoso (7) and Antonio de Mendoza (2), including his Vida da nuestra senora, with one each by Fray Juan de Avellaneda, Joseph Pellicer de Tovar y Abarca, Fray Juan de Vitoria, P. Juan Davila, 'S.J.', Fray Luis de Leon, Francisco Bravo de Guzman, Gabriel de Moncada, Gabriel de Rozas and Luis de Ulloa Pereira. There are also anonymous pieces, included the sonnet 'No me mueve mi dios para quererte'. The poems were written in three different hands during the seventeenth century, although not before 1647.

Administrative / Biographical History

The identity of the volume's compiler is not known.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Purchased at Sotheby's, 1973.

Other Finding Aids


Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives, with reference to the entry on the collection in Bibliotheca Phillippica (London, Sotheby & Co., 1973), p. 164.

Custodial History

The volume was formerly MSS 2406 and 24088 in the collection of Sir Thomas Phillipps, and was part of the sale of his library at Sotheby's on 26 June 1973.

Geographical Names