Dr. Clifton William (Jack) Gibby (1902-1989), a Fellow of the Royal Institute of Chemistry, was associated with the University of Durham from 1926 until 1989: between 1926 and 1967 he served as a lecturer in Chemistry and from 1968 until his death was an Honorary Research Associate of the Department of Archaeology. This latter appointment reflected not only the training in archaeological conservation which he provided but also his long standing enthusiasm for and contribution to the study and teaching of the history, architecture and archaeology of the North-East of England, during the course of which his collection of papers was amassed.
Gibby, who was elected a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, was greatly involved with the Architectural and Archaeological Society of Durham and Northumberland, first as secretary and then, from 1969 to 1980, as President. He was a founder member and trustee of the City of Durham Trust and a member of the Durham Diocesan Advisory Committee for the care of churches. He also served as chairman of the Trustees of the Freemen of Durham and was himself admitted a Freeman of Durham City in 1986.
Among his publications were pamphlets entitled A Short Tour of Durham (by B. Colgrave and C.W. Gibby) and A Short History of Durham which went into several editions.
Above all Gibby was an inspiring and indefatigable lecturer. He helped to pioneer adult education classes throughout County Durham, particularly in the fields of local and family history, and continued to research and conduct such courses until the time of his death. He also gave a remarkable series of public lectures over many years, usually illustrated from his large collection of lantern slides, and conducted numerous tours and excursions.