Minutes, accounts and papers of the County Roads Board and its three districts. The Board also inherited records of the turnpike trusts which it succeeded so that the collection includes minutes and papers of some of the trusts.
County Roads Board, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The County Roads Board was established in 1845 under Act of Parliament 7 & 8 Vict. c.91 to take responsibility for the turnpike trusts following the Rebecca riots. It continued to operate most of the roads as toll roads but there was an additional contribution from the county rate. The Board was composed of between six and twelve justices of the peace together with certain ex officio members including the chairman of Quarter Sessions, eldest sons of peers residing in the county, and members of parliament in the county. The county was divided into three districts Western (for Swansea, Neath and Llangyfelach hundreds), Eastern (for Newcastle, Ogmore, Cowbridge – except Llanharan, Dinas Powys, and Cibwr/Kibbor hundreds, with Whitchurch parish) and Northern (for the remainder of the county). Each had a full-time paid surveyor. The Board was assisted by a Government Engineer, and a General Superintendent of County Roads in south Wales was appointed by the Home Secretary. The powers and functions of the County Roads Board passed to Glamorgan County Council in 1889.
Compiled by [INSERT NAME] for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to [NAME ANY PUBLICATIONS USED].