Paper-making had been going on at Eynsham since 1682. In 1804 John Swan of Wolvercote purchased the mill for his brother James, who suceeded him in the business in 1807, and pioneered mechanized paper-making by installing a Fourdrinier machine at Eynsham. The business was run by Henry Swann from 1837; these records relate to his bankruptcy in 1848 and Mallams appear to be acting for Upton, Tatham, Johnson & Co of London, who seem to have been employed by the landlords of both the Eynsham and Sandford mills. The Swanns continued in business with partners until the 1860s. The mill closed for paper-making in 1893; it was re-opened and used for the manufacture of artificial leather board and, later, glue, but has since been demolished. There was a paper mill at Sandford by 1826. It was purchased by Cannon and Clapperton in 1910 and they were still in business in 1983, although the mill has since closed.
For further information about these mills see : ed. Alan Crossley The Victoria County History of Oxfordshire Volume XII, Wootton hundred (south), (Oxford University Press, 1990), pp.141-2 (for Eynsham); ed. Mary Lobel
The Victoria County History of Oxfordshire Volume V, Bullingdon Hundred, (London, 1957), p.271 (Sandford-on-Thames);
Wilfred Foreman 'Oxfordshire Mills' (1983) (both).