List of members with notes of the dates and reasons for their resignations, 1845, 92 folios. Additional lists of names occur at fos 76-80. Attached to fo. 1v is a letter from C.C. Babington to John Willis Clark, 22 March 1887.
Cambridge Camden Society: List of Members and Resignations
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 12 MS.Add.5052
- Dates of Creation1845-1887
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description1 volume
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Cambridge Camden Society was founded in 1839 by a group of undergraduates at Trinity College, Cambridge, who shared an interest in medieval ecclesiastical architecture. The founders included Benjamin Webb, John Mason Neale and Alexander Beresford-Hope. During the 1840s the society transferred to London, where it became the Ecclesiological Society. The society ended in 1867, but was refounded by Beresford-Hope in 1879 as the St Paul's EcclesiologicalSociety. The previous name was restored in 1937. The society's journal, The ecclesiologist, was published from 1841 to 1868.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Bequeathed by John Willis Clark, 1910.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.
The volume belonged formerly to A.M. Hopper, who left it with C.C. Babington. Babington sent it to John Willis Clark in 1887.