Papers of the Confederation of Health Service Employees

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

National Executive Committee minutes, 1946-62, 1975-84; Finance and Organisation Committee minutes, 1951-69; Legal and Parliamentary Committee minutes, 1946-51; amalgamation file, 1945-46; post-war staffing crisis files; Health Services Journal, 1946-63 (incomplete); historian's papers; delegate conference papers, 1992-93.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Confederation of Health Service Employees (COHSE) was formed in 1946 by the amalgamation of the Mental Hospital and Institutional Workers' Union and the Hospitals and Welfare Services Union. In 1993 it amalgamated with the National and Local Government Officers' Association and the National Union of Public Employees to form UNISON.

Reference: M. Carpenter, All for One (COHSE: Banstead, 1980).

Conditions Governing Access

These papers are closed for twenty years.

Acquisition Information

The initial deposit was made by COHSE in October 1981. Subsequent deposits were made in 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1993.

Other Finding Aids

This archive has been catalogued to file level. A copy of this catalogue is available in electronic format, in paper format in the Centre's searchroom, at the National Register of Archives in London and in Chadwyck-Healey's National Inventory of Documentary Sources.

An authority record exists for the Confederation of Health Service Employees (GB 0152 AAR1163).

Conditions Governing Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this archive, apart from the requirements of copyright law.

Appraisal Information

This collection has been weeded for duplicates.


Further deposits are expected.

Related Material

The Centre also holds the archives of COHSE's predecessor unions (MSS.229)

The Centre also holds the papers of UNISON (see for further information), NALGO (see for further information) and NUPE (see for further information).


The official history of the union was written using material from the archive: M. Carpenter, All for One (COHSE: Banstead, 1980).