Bampton Aston is a village in the south- west of Oxford. It was once part of the large parish of Bampton, until in 1845, this was split up. Bampton Aston was united with the chapelry of Shifford
(whose records may be found at PAR232), and the hamlets of Cote and Chimney to become the parish of Bampton Aston with Shifford. Further details on the history of this area, and earlier records on Bampton Aston itself, may be found in the parish records of Bampton (PAR16).
Bampton Aston with Shifford stayed a separate parish until 1976, when it was united with Bampton Proper, Bampton Lew and Clanfield, where it now remains.
Records from Bampton Aston were originally deposited in the Bodleian Library in 1976 and 1983. Further deposits were made directly with Oxfordshire Archives as Acc 2200 in January 1984 and Acc 4084 in May 1996. Appendices give the original contents of each deposit, and provide a concordance table for old and new references.
Catalogued by Robin Darwall-Smith in May 1996 with additions by Alison Smith in November 2019.