License to John Edwards, Mariner, to act as pilot for the port of Caernarfon from Y Felinheli and Moel-y-don. Also, a license to the ship or boat called Water Lily of Beaumaris as a pilot-boat within the limits of Beaumaris pilotage district.
Pilot and Pilot Boat Licences
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS PPBL
- Dates of Creation1825-1866
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Before the construction of the Menai Bridge over the Menai Straits, there were several ferries operating between Anglesey and the main land, carrying foot passengers as well as livestock, to and fro.
According to H.R. Davies in his chapter on The Menai Ferries in An Inventory of Ancient Monuments in Anglesey, 1937, The Moelydon ferry, of later years, has borne the reputation of a safe and commodious ferry at which no lives had ever been lost. We are told, however, that upon a Saturday in December of 1710, the boat was sunk with 15 men and 10 horses on board; but the mishap occurred close to the shore and all apparently escaped.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 14029-14030
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.