Llanelidan National School opened in 1846.
The Reverend Roberts - rector of Llanelidan established a village school in 1846 on the Nant Clwyd Estate on land given by Christopher Leyland the landowner. It was located on the parcel of land just north of the St Elidan's Church in Llanelidan.
Log Book entries began in January 1865 by headteach William Parry. It was a mixed Junior and Infants school and had an average of 28 scholars.
In September 1904 the school became a County School under the control of the LEA. In February 1907 Christmas Jones became Headteacher - a post he held until his death in December 1925. He was succeeded by J Edgar Lewis in September 1926.
A HMI report of 1938 (Log Book ED/LB/54/3 page 291) referred to the falling numbers at the school with only 69 scholars by 1927-8 and 43 scholars by 1937-8. Reference was also made to the difficulties of English/Welsh language teaching.
As the school was built on the Nant Clwyd Estate land, frequent visitors to the school over its history were the landowners, the Naylor Leyland family from Nant Clwyd Hall.
The school closed on March 26th 1970 after 125 years. For school closure article and photograph see Denbighshire Free Press - Saturday April 4th 1970 (DD/DM/341/66)
Llanelidan LL15 2PT
Map - 25 inch OS map sheet 16 1912 Edition
DD/DM/1863- Photographs and records of Jones Family of Leyland Arms, Llanelidan (late 19th cent.-2007)