Records relating to Brynteg Chapel, Gorseinon, 1893-2002, including file relating to the chapel history, 1980; annual reports, 1978-2002; records of chapel trustees, late 19th cent.; volumes relating to finance 1941-1998; records regarding church property and procedures 1971-2002; programmes and service leaflets for special events and services 1985-1997; information booklets 1987-2001; other documents relating to church property, 1893-c.1897; and artefacts.
Brynteg Chapel, Gorseinon, Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The cause began as a branch of the church at Tirdwncyn. This later became Mynydd-bach, holding meetings in a farmhouse in the Upper Town area of Loughor. In the beginning of the eighteenth century, the congregation moved to new premises at Rhydymaerdy. In 1815, the old chapel at Brynteg was built and a new building was erected in 1897 to the north of the existing chapel.
Arranged into the following: chapel history, adroddiadau blynyddol [Annual reports], records of chapel trustees, volumes relating to finance, files of correspondence and other papers regarding church property and procedures, programmes and service leaflets for special events and services, information booklets, other documents relating to church property, and artefact.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Brynteg Chapel, Gorseinon, Records, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are possible.