The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.
Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils. Following a decision by the Church in Wales to group parish collections by deanery, the records of Trelawynd were transferred from Flintshire Record Office to Denbighshire Record Office in June 2009.
Trelawnyd is one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. It was originally part of the parish of Dyserth, and appears to have become a separate parish some time between 1254 and 1291. It comprises four townships - Gop, Graig, Pentreffyddion and Rhydlyfnwyd. Trelawnyd was originally one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. The name "Newmarket" dates back to 1700, in which year John Wynne obtained a faculty from the Bishop's Registry to change the name. John Wynne had already rebuilt most of the village, established several branches of industry, and set up a weekly market and an annual fair. The village (and parish) continued to be called Newmarket until 1954, when it was officially renamed as Trelawnyd.
Information taken from GENUKI- http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/FLN/Trelawnyd/index.html [last accessed 11/06/2015]
Records of Trelawnyd parish, 1696-1974, including registers, 1696-1970; service registers, 1919-1974; records of charities, 1858-1971; tithe records, 1844-5; enclosure records, 1821-1828.