Scope and content/abstract: Records of the Anglesey Constabulary, 1867 - 1988, mainly from the Holyhead station, including complaint books, 1940 - 1944. charge books, 1942 - 1944. records of prisoners charged and detained in cells, 1924 - 1944. conviction books, 1917 - 1942. record of crimes books, 1886 - 1946. occurrence books, 1938 - 1965. guard room time books, 1939 - 1947. journals of the Superintendent, 1903 - 1943. Constables' journals, 1943 - 1948. lost property books, 1933 - 1983. telephone messages books, 1939 - 1943. letter books, 1893 - 1948. correspondence of R. H. Prothero, 1915 - 1922. general files, 1906 - 1943. descriptive and distribution return (police constables), 1869 - 1919. monthly reports, 1906 - 1922. The fonds also includes records from the Chief Constable's Office, Llangefni, including letter books, 1890 - 1917. rules and regulations, 1913 - 1919. general files, 1913 - 1919, including Record of Gipsies, 1920 - 1922. ledger, 1911 - 1918. financial, 1906 - 1934. police publications, 1909 - 1926. There are also records from Menai Bridge station, 1867 - 1955, including Constables' journal, 1867 - 1872. register of prisoners, 1905 - 1950. miscellaneous files, 1921 - 1978. photographs reproduced in Hugh Owen's History of the Anglesey Constabulary, 1880 - 1918. Brynsiencyn police station, 1949 - 1967. Bodorgan police station, 1950 - 1967. register of diseases of animals, 1951 - 1973. Trearddur Bay police station, 1960 - 1983. Beaumaris police station, 1952 - 1968.
Anglesey Constabulary Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Anglesey Constabulary was formed in 1857, to replace the existing parish constables in enforcing the law. The Chief Constable's Office was located in Llangefni. R. H. Prothero was appointed as Chief Constable of Anglesey in 1892. In 1950, the Anglesey, Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire police forces were amalgamated under the Police Act 1946 to form the Gwynedd Constabulary.
Arranged into the following: Holyhead Station records; records of the Chief Constable's Office; Menai Bridge Station records; photographs reproduced in Hugh Owen's History of the Anglesey Constabulary; miscellaneous; curios and additional deposits
Fe all eitemau sy'n cynnwys gwybodaeth am unigolion a enwir gael eu cyfyngu yn unol a Deddf Diogelu Data a pholisi Swyddfa Gofnodiadau Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn /Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act and Anglesey County Record Office policy.
Deposited pre-1976 and by the Chief Constable, Colwyn Bay, 1978.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifdy Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Gwasanaeth Archifdy Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archivesand the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Gwasanaeth Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da / Good condition
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Ynys Môn/Anglesey County Record Office, Catalogue, Anglesey Constabulary Records; Jones, J. Owain, The History of the Caernarvonshire Constabulary, 1856-1950 (Caernarvon, 1963).
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained
Artefacts transferred to Oriel Ynys Môn November 1999.
Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible