Lyric Movement, H191

Scope and Content

By Gustav Holst, 1933. For viola and small orchestra.

1. Unrevised piano reduction, autograph manuscript [10pp].

2. Orchestral parts, non-autograph manuscript. Including Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in B flat, Bassoon, Violin I (7 parts), Violin II (6 parts), Viola (orchestra) (5 parts), Cello (4 parts), C. Bass (4 parts). Many of the string parts have autograph annotations as detailed on the cover of each part in Imogen Holst's hand.

Note on the folio bag in Imogen Holst's hand states 'Manuscript parts as used in the 1st BBC studio broadcast on 18 March 1934, (Tentis + Adrian Boult) two months before Holst's death', '(Given by Imogen Holst, June 1980, to the Archives dept in the Holst Library at Snape.'

Conditions Governing Access

This material is made available under the standard conditions of the Britten-Pears Foundation. Readers will be required to produce proof of identity and to sign a Reader’s Undertaking form.

Related Material

See HOL/1/2/133/1-5 for published music for Lyric Movement; see also HOL/1/4/2/13 for additional manuscripts for Lyric Movement; see also HOL/2/5/25 for published parts marked by Imogen Holst for Lyric Moevement.