The Cotswolds: Symohony in F, H47, Op 8

Scope and Content

By Gustav Holst, 1899-1900. For orchestra. Originally Opus 10.

1. Complete score of arrangement for duet for two pianos, autograph manuscript

Movements I. Allegro con brio [6pp], II. Elegy [5pp], III. Scherzo [11pp], IV. Finale [10pp]

Note on covering page of score reads '1st page of slow movement (Elegy) from Cotswold Symphony arranged for 2 pianos'

Note on the folio bag reads '2 prt arr. AUT'

2. Part for 2nd piano,

Movements I. Allegro con brio, non autograph manuscript [5pp], II. Elergy, non autgraph manuscript [5pp], III. Sherzo, autograph manuscript [10pp], IV. Finale, autograph manuscript [9pp]

Pencil note on front of movement III in an unkown hand reads'Will you play the others with Gustav on Monday morning [?]A.V.T.

Access Information

This material is made available under the standard conditions of the Britten-Pears Foundation. Readers will be required to produce proof of identity and to sign a Reader’s Undertaking form.

Related Material

See HOL/1/2/13/1-2 for published music for The Cotswolds: Symphony in F.