Ebenezer Chapel, Swansea, Records

Scope and Content

Records relating to Ebenezer Chapel, Mariner Street and Ebenezer Newydd Chapel, Henrietta Street, Swansea, 1878-1999, including periodicals, 1892-1976; annual reports, 1903-1999; records relating to the chapel history, 1954; photographs, 1894-1989; orders of service for the induction of ministers at Capel Ebenezer, 1948-1976; orders of service for funerals, 1929-1977; annual reports and records relating to the Undeb yr Annibynwyr Cymraeg (the Union of Welsh Independents), 1945-1996; records relating to other chapels, 1949-1987; periodicals, 1878-1968; published books, 1923-1976; annual reports of theological colleges, 1964-1979; miscellaneous periodicals; illuminated address 1907; Eglwys Ebenezer, Abertawe: adroddiadau blynyddol (annual reports for Ebenezer, Swansea) (continuation); Eglwys Henrietta Street, Abertawe: adroddiadau blynyddol (annual reports for Henrietta Street Church, Swansea); Minutes for Ebenezer and Henrietta Street churches, and for Ebeneser Newydd, Henrietta Street; Graveyard register; Photographs and lithographs of members of Ebenezer, Henrietta and Ebeneser Newydd Churches; Images from Ebenezer Church; Orders of service relating to ministers and other members of Ebenezer and Ebeneser Newydd, Henrietta Street; Membership lists, 1841-1925; Account books; Minute books and other records relating to the activities of the Women's Fellowship at Ebenezer Newydd; Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The records are relating to Ebenezer Chapel, Mariner Street and Ebenezer Newydd Chapel, Henrietta Street. Ebenezer originated as a branch congregation of Mynyddbach Chapel, Tirdoncyn, meeting in a farmhouse at Fforestfach. The chapel was built and opened in 1804, in Mariner Street, Swansea. In the 1970s it was decided to combine with the Welsh Congregational chapel in Henrietta Street, with whom they shared their minister. The old chapel was sold to Waunwen Baptist Church, and the chapel in Henrietta Street became known as Ebenezer Newydd. Henrietta Street Welsh Independent Chapel had begun in 1841 as an offshoot of Ebenezer: services were held initially in the Victoria Room in Upper Oxford Street, but moved within two years to a new chapel called Seion, which stood on the site of the Station. When the station was being built, the chapel was demolished and a new one, sited a little further down High Street, was opened in 1849. In 1896 the decision was taken to remove the chapel to the western suburbs of the town, and a new chapel was built in Henrietta Street, which was opened for divine service in April 1897. Following a decline in membership, the decision was taken to close in 2017.


Arranged into series by document type.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ebenezer, Mariner Street, and Ebenezer Newydd, Henrietta Street, Swansea, Records, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names