Many of the records in this collection were originally deposited at the Bodleian Library by successive vicars of Watlington between 1961 and 1979. Additional documents were deposited by Bullingdon Rural District Council in 1950 and by Watlington Parish Council in 1981. After the parish records were transferred to Oxfordshire Record Office (now Oxfordshire History Centre) in 1984, further deposits were made in April 1989, as Acc 6203 in September 2013 and as Acc 6413 in November 2015. One of the poor rate books, PAR279/5/F2/5, was found among the Henley Poor Law Union records (part of accession 740).
A conspectus of old and new references is included at the end of the catalogue.
Catalogued/re-catalogued by Mark Priddey, July 2015 with additions by Alison Smith in January 2016.