Personal records including diaries, photographs and memorabilia, and printed items
William George Long, Shipwright, papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William ('Bill') George Long (1904-1986) was born in Cardiff in 1904 and lived in Dorset Street, in Grangetown, attending Clarence Road School and later Court Road School until the age of 13 when he left to work in the Home and Colonial Stores, in Clare Road. In August 1917 he started work at the Mount Stuart Dry Dock, taking an apprenticeship at the Channel Dry Dock in 1919 until 1926. After the death of his father Elijah, the family moved to Corporation Road. He married Marianne Leah Donovan ('Pat') in 1929 and they had two children, Audrey and Colin. From 1926 till 1939 he worked in several posts at the docks, mainly for the Channel Dry Dock, until 1939 when he became a charge-hand. Long served also a fire-watcher during the Second World War. Bombing of the area around their home during the war forced Long and his wife to evacuate their children to Pentre-bach, near Brecon, for two months. Long worked as a charge-hand until 1966 when he was dismissed from this post but kept on as an ordinary worker until redundancy in 1967 forced him to take on work as a night security man at University College, Cardiff. He later moved to Willenhall, West Midlands, and retired in 1974. Long had two brothers, John ('Jack') and Clifford, and sisters Annie, Winifred, Edna and Ida.
Chronological within record series.
Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with data protection legislation and GA policy.
Donated by Mrs A Franklin
Compiled by Richard Morgan for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to notes supplied by donor
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
Duplicates and ephemera destroyed.
The records remained in the custody of the donor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are not expected.